Justin Brayton - News Article
' Include File created by Carl Hein to easily modify back ground images and colors. New Page 1


Justin Brayton > News

7/30/2014 - Brayton and Pourcel Make it a Clean Sweep of the MotoSport.com Holeshot Awards for Yamaha at Washougal


MORGANTOWN, W.Va. (July 30, 2014) - The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, returned to the west coast this past weekend for its annual visit to the Pacific Northwest and the picturesque Washougal MX Park. The Motosport.com Washougal National served as the ninth stop of the season and featured a day of dominance for the Red Bull KTM squad, in which both Ryan Dungey and Marvin Musquin swept the days motos in the 450 Class and 250 Class, respectively, en route to victory. KTM also had success in qualifying, while Yamaha showcased its power out of the gate all afternoon long.


Through partnerships with series sponsors, the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship will recognize the riders who achieve the series' specialty awards all summer long. Each week, MX Sports Pro Racing will recognize the riders who are able to lay claim to the Oakley Bomb Fastest Lap Program, the MotoSport.com Holeshot Award in each moto, and the Ricky Carmichael Hard Charger Award throughout the 2014 season.


The Oakley Bomb Fastest Lap Program is designed to present a unique challenge for the 2014 season, providing a different twist by recognizing the rider who sets the fastest lap of practice in both the 250 and 450 Classes. Each rider will receive special Oakley Bomb trophy, specially designed by the brand.As the season wears on, the total number of Oakley Bomb awards a rider receives will be tallied into a final season total. The competitor with the most awards at season's end will be presented with an Elite Oakley Time Bomb II Swiss Automatic Watch.


For just the second time in 2014, Dungey posted the fastest lap of practice in the premier class, beating out Team Honda Muscle Milk's Trey Canard by over half a second to earn the Oakley Bomb Award. In fact, Dungey's lap of 2:13.401 made him the only rider to break the 2:14.00 barrier. The last time the two-time series champion topped the charts was at the opening round from Glen Helen, and on that afternoon Dungey also walked away with the victory. At Washougal, he carried that impressive into the motos and was simply on another level from his competitors.


One week after Valli Motorsports Yamaha's Christophe Pourcel clinched the Oakley Bomb Fastest Lap Program title and the prized watch that comes with it, another Frenchman added his name to the list of Oakley Bomb Award recipients in 2014. Musquin made it clear early that he would be the rider to beat at Washougal after posting the fastest lap of any rider in either class at the conclusion of the first session. He maintained his spot on top in the final session, bettering his time to a 2:14.082 and finding a full second-and-a-half advantage over the rest of the field. After a pair of good starts in the motos, it looked easy for Musquin to make his way to the front and control the race.


The Motosport.com Holeshot Award is brand new to Lucas Oil Pro Motocross this season and it awards $500 to the rider who gets the holeshot of each moto - in both the 450 Class and 250 Class - at every round of the 2014 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship. A total of $2,000 will be up for grabs at each event between the two classes, thanks to Motosport.com.


In the 450 Class, the Toyota/Yamaha/JGRMX effort is known for its impressive speed off the start. After his teammate Josh Grant was forced to miss the action following a crash in practice, Justin Brayton rose to the occasion for his team in each moto. The veteran made a clean sweep of the Motosport.com Holeshot Awards in the premier class, pocketing $1,000 for his efforts and bringing some positive results to the JGRMX squad on an otherwise tough day. Brayton parlayed those starts into a solid top-10 effort, finishing ninth overall after 8-8 moto scores.


In the 250 Class, Pourcel shifted his affinity for posting a fast qualifying lap to impeccable launches out of the gate. Just one week after he swept the Motosport.com Holeshot Awards and Spring Creek, the Frenchman duplicated that effort at Washougal, giving him another $1,000 bonus and $2,000 in holeshot money the last two weeks. His current streak of four straight holeshots complements his streak of three-in-a-row earlier this season and brings his class-leading total to seven. There simply hasn't been a rider in the entire championship to collect as many specialty awards this season as the "Crafty Frenchman."


The RC Hard Charger Award is entering its sixth season in 2014. Named after Ricky Carmichael, the most winning motocross rider of all time, the award recognizes the one competitor at each of the 12 rounds of the championship who overtakes the highest number of his fellow racers in any of the four championship motos between the 250 and 450 Classes.The award is a testament to "The Greatest of All Time" or "The GOAT" and his never-give-up attitude over the span of a career that warranted 10 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross titles and 102 wins - two feats that will likely never be duplicated. All recipients of the RC Hard Charger Award are given a custom-designed trophy.


On an afternoon in which the top privateer was honored for his efforts in both the 450 Class and 250 Class, it was fitting that another privateer with Pacific Northwest roots ultimately earned the RC Hard Charger Award at Washougal with a resilient ride. Seattle-area native Tevin Tapia found himself in dead last to start the final 450 Class moto, crossing the line in 38th, but the Team 3BR Suzuki rider refused to let adversity get to him at his home race and put on a charge. After a grueling final moto on an extremely rough and challenging track, Tapia fought his way into a points-paying position in 20th, passing a total of 18 riders to salvage what could have been a forgettable outing.




Click here to a full list of articles.